Business & Finance3 mins ago
Scotland Lose But Isn't It Their Fault Rather Than An 'dodgy' Decision By The Ref?
We are all disappointed that there are no Northern Hemisphere
Teams through to final but I wish we wouldn't always fall
back to blaming the referees.
Can anyone explain why the late penalty in the Scottish
match was 'wrong' ?
Teams through to final but I wish we wouldn't always fall
back to blaming the referees.
Can anyone explain why the late penalty in the Scottish
match was 'wrong' ?
Answers
The referee got it wrong, but he does not deserve the abuse he was getting, and certainly not the bottles tossed in his direction. He could only go to the TMO if he judged the offence to be deliberate, and he did not. He was probably correct in that. Of course the law will be changed: too late for Scotland, but we've been begging referees to take more decisions...
08:34 Tue 20th Oct 2015
I agree with TTT. If the Scots hadn't made a botch of the lineout
on their throw, but just retained the ball in the ensuing ruck there
wouldn't have been this problem.
I'm not sure if a referral to the TMO is within the protocol but the ref
could/should have consulted his assistant referee ( I still call them
linesmen!)
on their throw, but just retained the ball in the ensuing ruck there
wouldn't have been this problem.
I'm not sure if a referral to the TMO is within the protocol but the ref
could/should have consulted his assistant referee ( I still call them
linesmen!)
"If the Scots hadn't made a botch of the lineout... there wouldn't have been this problem."
What relevance does that have? One might as well say in other ciscumstances, "If Player A hadn't kneed Played B in the groin, there wouldn't have been a penalty."
Only the facts matter and Gromit provided them in the opening answer to this thread.
What relevance does that have? One might as well say in other ciscumstances, "If Player A hadn't kneed Played B in the groin, there wouldn't have been a penalty."
Only the facts matter and Gromit provided them in the opening answer to this thread.
The referee got it wrong, but he does not deserve the abuse he was getting, and certainly not the bottles tossed in his direction.
He could only go to the TMO if he judged the offence to be deliberate, and he did not. He was probably correct in that.
Of course the law will be changed: too late for Scotland, but we've been begging referees to take more decisions themselves in this World Cup: here at least was an occasion were the ref felt obliged to do that.
If he'd NOT called offside and it had proved to have been so, then the Australians would have been out to get him.
He could only go to the TMO if he judged the offence to be deliberate, and he did not. He was probably correct in that.
Of course the law will be changed: too late for Scotland, but we've been begging referees to take more decisions themselves in this World Cup: here at least was an occasion were the ref felt obliged to do that.
If he'd NOT called offside and it had proved to have been so, then the Australians would have been out to get him.
Related Questions
Sorry, we can't find any related questions. Try using the search bar at the top of the page to search for some keywords, or choose a topic and submit your own question.